TACEO Seminar, June 2016
1466711605.jpgUnion County Election Commission members with Mark Goins, Coordinator of Elections during the annual TACEO Legal Seminar.
Pictured left to right:
Rodney Malone, Jack Effler, Rick Walker, Mark Goins-Coordinator of Elections, Deborah Viles-AOE, Patricia Sexton-Deputy, Kyle Richardson, Chairman (not pictured, J.V. Waller, Secretary)
Mission Statement
1439895543.jpgThe Union County Election Commission's purpose as designated
by Tennessee Code Annotated (2-1-102) is to:
- secure the freedom and purity of the ballot
- require voters to vote in the precincts they reside except as otherwise expressly permitted
- provide a comprehensive and uniform election procedure and encourage maximum participation by all citizens in the electoral process
Deborah C. Viles
Administrator of Elections

The Union County Election Commission is located in Maynardville, Tennessee. It is one of 95 election offices in Tennessee.

Five Commissioners are appointed by the state Election Commission and serve for two years. Appointees must be registered voters, residents of the state for 5 years and residents of the county where appointed for two years. The Administrator is the chief officer at the Election Commission.

The Election Commission is responsible for the conduct of all elections held within Union County, including those of the cities of Maynardville, Luttrell and Plainview. These responsibilities include polling place arrangement, appointment and training of election officials, printing of ballots, preparation of election supplies, purchase, storage and maintenance of voting machines and the certification of election results.

"All forms on this website are provided for convenient access only . It is not intended for use to submit them to the Union Co. Election Commission by e-mail. You must print the form out, fill it out completely and correctly, sign, and then regular mail to our provided address."
Vote in secret without fear, intimidation, or coercion.

Cast a ballot if legally registered in the county.

Cast a ballot if present and in line at the Election Day Precinct before the polls close (7 PM in Central Time & 8 PM in Eastern Time).

Ask for and receive assistance in voting as authorized by state law.

Ask election officials questions about the voting process and election procedures and receive oral instructions and information about the voting process.

Review a displayed sample ballot prior to voting.

Vote on a certified voting system and have their vote counted accurately.

Be treated with courtesy and respect in an atmosphere without discrimination due to disability, race, literacy, or political point of view.

Vote in an accessible polling place.

Have their minor child (under age 18) accompany them while voting.

Cast a provisional ballot if their name is not listed on the registration list and they affirm they attempted to register to vote in the county at least 30 days before Election Day, or 29 days if Sunday is the 30th day before Election Day.

Receive written notice if their provisional ballot was counted or was rejected along with the reason it was rejected.

Cast a challenged ballot if their eligibility to vote is challenged and the challenge is upheld by the election judges.


Legally register in the county at least 30 days before an upcoming Election Day, or 29 days before an upcoming Election Day if the 30th day is a Sunday.

Notify their County Election Office of any change of residential address or name change promptly in advance of any election or early voting period.

Present proper identification when they appear to vote.

Ask questions when they are confused about any election procedures.

Provide truthful information regarding their legal residence, change of address and right to vote in the county.

Refrain from campaigning or attempting to influence any voter inside the 100’ campaign boundary.

Respect the privacy and voting rights of others.

Know how to operate the voting equipment properly and ask questions prior to casting their vote, not after leaving a voting machine.

Know their precinct location and the hours of operation.

Know their voting districts, candidates, and issues on the ballot for each Election Day and to study a sample ballot when necessary.
Regular Meeting of the Union County Election Commission
Notice of Regular Meeting of the Union County Election Commission
The Union County Election Commission shall meet:
When: On the 2nd Thursday of each month
Time: 2:00 pm
Place: Union County Courthouse, Room 101
Purpose: To conduct election business which comes before the commission pursuant to its duties listed in, but not limited to, TCA §2-12-116, and to conduct any other business that may come before the election commission at that time. Union County Election Commission

901 Main Street, Suite 108 Maynardville TN 37807


Office Hours: 8:00 am - 4:00 pm Monday through Friday

Meeting Dates for 2020:
January 9, 2020
February 13, 2020
March 12, 2020
April 9, 2020
May 14, 2020
June 11, 2020
July 9, 2020
August 13, 2020
September 10, 2020
October 8, 2020
November 12, 2020
December 10, 2020
Current Union County Election Commissioners
Kyle Richardson, Chairman

Rodney Malone, Secretary

Jack Effler, Member

Ricky Lyn Walker, Member

J.V. Waller, Member